2011 Census and National Household Survey

In 2010, the federal government announced important changes to its Census Program for the year 2011. In previous cycles, the Census Program included a short mandatory form for all of the Canadian population, as well as a long mandatory form distributed to one out of five households. However, in 2011, while the Census Program still included the short mandatory form for all of the Canadian population, the long mandatory form was replaced by a voluntary survey, named the National Household Survey (NHS).

Because of this change, the data for the 2011 NHS cannot be directly compared with those from previous cycles. To avoid any confusion, the NHS data are only published under the various topics covered on the Institut’s website.


News releases by the Institut about the situation


Click on a region to obtain the list of tables available for that region, its regional county municipalities (RCM), equivalent territories, and municipalities.

10 - Nord-du-Québec 02 - Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean 08 - Abitibi-Témiscamingue 09 - Côte-Nord 11 - Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine 01 - Bas-Saint-Laurent 03 - Capitale-Nationale 12 - Chaudière-Appalaches 04 - Mauricie 14 - Lanaudière 17 - Centre-du-Québec 05 - Estrie 15 - Laurentides 07 - Outaouais 16 - Montérégie 13 - Laval 06 - Montréal map